Concealed Weapons Permits
Updates starting January 1st, 2024
Senate Bill 2 requires that the firearms training course for initial CCW applications be a minimum of 16 hours and for CCW renewal applications by a minimum of 8 hours - Penal Code 26165.
- If applying for a NEW Concealed Carry Weapon license a course approved by the County Sheriff’s Office must be completed prior to permit issuance. This course will be a minimum of 16 hours.
- If applying for a RENEWAL Concealed Carry Weapon license, an 8 hour course approved by the County Sheriff’s Office must be completed prior to permit issuance.
- The applicant is the recorded owner, with the Department of Justice, of the pistol, revolver, or other firearm for which the license will be issued
Character reference: You will need to provide the names and contact information of three persons willing to serve as references. One of the three must be a person described in Penal Code section 273.5, subdivision (b) (your spouse, or former spouse, your cohabitant or former cohabitant, your fiancée, or someone with whom you have, or previously had, an engagement or dating relationship, or the mother or father of your child), if applicable. At least one of the three must be your cohabitant if applicable.
REQUIREMENTS FOR INITIAL AND RENEWAL PERMITS
California's law requires concealed weapon permit applicants to satisfy specific criteria before being issued a license. The requirements are as follows:
- Residency: All applicants must provide proof that they are a resident of the County of Mariposa.
- Acceptable proof of residency must be TWO of the following (must be current within the last 90 days AND in applicants name with physical residential address):
- Utility bill (PG&E, Water, Garbage, Cable, Home Phone, Solar, Internet, Propane Delivery bill) No cell phone bills
- Current mortgage statement
- Current Lease/Rental agreement
- Current Mariposa County voting record
- Current Mariposa County Property Tax Bill with homeowners’ exemption
- Identification: Applicant MUST have a California DL or ID with a Mariposa County address (Physical or PO Box)
- Training: Must attend and successfully complete a Mariposa County Sheriff’s Office approved training course. Applicant must qualify with each weapon that they wish to put on their initial or renewal permit.
INITIAL APPLICATION PROCESS
RENEWAL APPLICATION PROCESS
APPROVED CCW INSTRUCTORS
|Stage Stop Gun Shop
|Jim Bernardi Firearms