How Do I View More Detailed Megan's Law Information?
Detailed Megan's Law information is free and available for public viewing, 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., Tuesdays and Thursdays, at the Mariposa County Sheriff's Department, 4963 10th Street, Mariposa or Station #1, 10459 Fiske Road, Greeley Hill. You must bring a valid California Driver's License or valid California Identification card. You may contact the Mariposa County Sheriff's Department for further information.

An alternative to visiting the Sheriff's Department is the California Department of Justice Identification Line at 1-(900) 448-3000. The cost is $10.00 per call for information on two subjects. Your phone number will be recorded and you will be charged automatically. Hours are Monday - Friday from 9:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m.

When you call, you may find out if someone you know is one of California's registered sex offenders. To have access to this information, you must be 18 years or older, will be asked to identify yourself, and must have reasonable suspicion that a child is at risk. You will need the subject's name and address, or birth date, or Social Security information. You need to provide the person's name and at least five of the following: height, weight, hair color, eye color, ethnicity/race, description of scars, tattoos, or birthmarks. For more information contact the California Department of Justice, Bureau of Criminal Information and Analysis, P. O. Box 903387, Sacramento, CA 94203-3870.


Show All Answers

1. What is Megan's Law?
2. What is a sex offender?
3. What is Sex Offender Registration?
4. What does 290 PC mean?
5. What is the Difference between Serious and High Risk Offenders?
6. How Do I View More Detailed Megan's Law Information?
7. What Will This More Detailed Information Provide?
8. Is the Information Available from My Local Law Enforcement Agency Accurate?
9. What Information Do I Need to View the Megan's Law Data?
10. If I Have an Address Where I Suspect an Offender Lives, Can the Megan's Law Data Confirm My Suspicion?
11. When Are Sex Offenders Required to Register?
12. Is it a Crime if a Sex Offender Does Not Register
13. I Know of a Sex Offender Who Did Not Register When He/She Recently Moved to a New Location. What Should I Do?