Social Services

Division Overview

Child Welfare Services (CWS)

Child Welfare Services (CWS) is charged with protecting the safety and well being of children in Mariposa County.

Resource Family Approval (RFA)

The RFA staff recruits individuals and families who are interested in becoming resource family homes, and provides support and recognition services to licensed foster parents. This program was previously called Foster Family Home Licensing.

Adult Protective Services (APS) 

The goal of the Adult Protective Services program (APS) is to prevent and remedy the abuse and/or neglect of those unable to protect their own interests.

In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS)

In-Home Supportive Services (IHSS) provides services to Medi-Cal eligible individuals who are over 65, blind, or disabled, in order to keep these individuals safely in their own homes as long as possible, preventing placement in skilled nursing or board and care facilities.

Public Authority (PA)

The IHSS Public Authority staff assists IHSS recipients (consumers) needing assistance with locating and hiring a provider.

Public Guardian / Public Conservator (PG/PC) 

The PG/PC program is committed to the trust, safety, and well-being of individuals who are gravely disabled and cannot effectively take care of themselves and, therefore, require conservatorship appointed by the Court.